Nursing and Midwifery Education

The Slovenian education system consists of:

  • pre-school education
  • basic education (single structure of primary and lower secondary education
  • (upper) secondary education:
    • vocational and technical education
    • secondary general education
  • higher vocational education
  • higher education

Higher education includes academic university studies and professionally oriented studies.

In 2004, amendments to the Higher Education Act were adopted. The Act provides for a three-level study structure. The first level relates to the undergraduate studies and the second and third levels to postgraduate studies. The duration of study programmes is limited in years (three to four years) and credit points (180 to 240 credit points). Study programmes must be in line with the EU study programmes. The second level maintains the master's studies. It encompasses from 60 to 120 credit points and takes one or two years to complete. The third level is the doctoral studies and lasts three years. Higher education is the responsibility of the Ministry of Higher Education, Science and Technology.